Constitutional Council


The Constitutional Council is a parity body, composed of 50 members, whose sole purpose is to discuss and approve a proposed text of a new Constitution based on the rules established by the Constitution itself; the preliminary draft of the Proposal of New Constitution submitted by the Expert Commission, and; the Regulations to be established by the bicameral National Congress Commission.

On May 7th, 2023, it was held the election of the members of the Constitutional Council, based on the rules governing the election of Senators (through senatorial constituencies). As a result, the following members of the Constitutional Council were elected:

  1. Diego Vargas (Partido Republicano).
  2. Ninoska Payauna (Partido Republicano).
  3. Carlos Solar (Partido Republicano).
  4. Carmen Montoya (Partido Republicano).
  5. Paul Sfeir (Partido Republicano).
  6. Gloria Paredes (Partido Republicano).
  7. Antonio Barchiesi (Partido Republicano).
  8. María López (Partido Republicano).
  9. Luis Silva (Partido Republicano).
  10. Jorge Ossandón (Partido Republicano).
  11. Sebastián Figueroa (Partido Republicano).
  12. Ricardo Ortega (Partido Republicano).
  13. Miguel Rojas (Partido Republicano).
  14. María Gatica (Partido Republicano).
  15. Cecilia Medina (Partido Republicano).
  16. Patricia Spoerer (Partido Republicano).
  17. Aldo Sanhueza (Partido Republicano).
  18. Mariela Fincheira (Partido Republicano).
  19. Jorge de la Maza (Partido Republicano).
  20. Beatriz Hevia (Partido Republicano).
  21. Claudia Mac-Lean (Partido Republicano).
  22. Héctor Urban (Partido Republicano).
  23. Sebastián Parraguéz (Partido Republicano).
  24. Jocelyn Ormeño (Partido Socialista).
  25. José González (Revolución Democrática).
  26. Marcela Araya (Partido Socialista).
  27. Fernando Viveros (Partido Comunista).
  28. Aldo Valle (Partido Socialista).
  29. María Pardo (Convergencia Social).
  30. Karen Araya (Partido Comunista).
  31. Yerko Ljubetic (Convergencia Social).
  32. Miguel Littin (Partido Socialista).
  33. Christian Suárez (Partido Socialista).
  34. Paloma Zúñiga (Revolución Democrática).
  35. Kinturay Melin (Revolución Democrática).
  36. Alejandro Kohler (Partido Socialista).
  37. Nancy Márquez (Convergencia Social).
  38. Julio Ñanco (Revolución Democrática).
  39. Jessica Bengoa (Convergencia Social).
  40. Gloria Hutt (Evolución Política).
  41. Edmundo Eluchans (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  42. Ivonne Mangelsdorff (Renovación Nacional).
  43. Ivon Guerra (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  44. María Jorquera (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  45. Carolina Navarrete (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  46. Germán Becker (Renovación Nacional).
  47. Arturo Phillips (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  48. Lorena Gallardo (Renovación Nacional).
  49. Carlos Recondo (Unión Demócrata Independiente).
  50. Pilar Cuevas (Renovación Nacional)
  51. Alihuén Antileo (Indigenous people).